Home | FIND A PT | Print Page | Sign In | JOIN CPTA
Districts SIGs

Districts and Special Interest Groups


CPTA is comprised of twelve local Districts. Each member is assigned to a District on the basis of geographical location. The main functions of the Districts are to partner with CPTA in the accomplishment of our Vision and goals, to provide an opportunity for members to participate in CPTA and APTA activities at a local level, and to represent the District membership to the Chapter.

Golden Gate

The territorial boundaries for Golden Gate district consists of the following counties: Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, San Francisco, San Mateo

Greater Los Angeles

Portions of Los Angeles county are considered Greater Los Angeles district, mainly west of I-110. Such cities include Santa Monica, Glendale, and Santa Clarita

Inland Counties

The territorial boundaries for Inland Counties district consists of the following counties: Inyo, Mono, Riverside, San Bernadino

Long Beach/South Bay

Portions of Los Angeles county are considered Long Beach/South Bay district, mainly the south bay area of Los Angeles county. such cities include Long Beach and Torrance


The territorial boundaries for Northeast district consists of the following counties: Alpine, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, Colusa, El Dorado, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Napa, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sacramento, San Joaquin, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou, Solano, Stanislaus, Sutter, Tehama, Tuolumne, Yolo, Yuba

Orange County

The territorial boundaries for Orange County district is the county of Orange

Redwood Empire

The territorial boundaries for Redwood Empire district consists of the following counties: Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, Sonoma, Trinity

San Diego

The territorial boundaries for San Diego district consists of Imperial and San Diego county

San Gabriel Valley

The territorial jurisdiction of San Gabriel Valley district is the westernmost limits of the cities of Altadena, Pasadena, South Pasadena, along the I-110 including the communities of Lincoln Heights and Boyle Heights, east of the I-110 through Los Angeles

San Joaquin Valley

The territorial boundaries for San Joaquin Valley district consists of the following counties: Fresno, Kern, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Tulare

San Jose

The territorial boundaries for San Jose district consists of the following counties: Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz


The territorial boundaries for Tricounties district consists of the following counties: San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura

Special Interest Groups

A Special Interest Group (SIG) is comprised of a group of members within the association who have a common interest in special areas of physical therapy.

CA Orthopedic Manual Physical Therapy

Our special interest is providing the best in orthopedic musculoskeletal care for healthcare consumers in California through the use of manual therapy, exercise, and education. Our mission is to serve our members and healthcare consumers in California by elevating the quality of practice and enriching the body of knowledge of orthopedic manual physical therapy through fellowship, education, research, legislation and collaboration.


Our mission is to represent and advocate for issues specific to Pediatric Physical Therapists practicing in the state of California.

Private Pratice

The Private Practice Special Interest Group was formed to provide its members the leadership and support necessary to deliver a level of clinical practice consistent with the state of the art physical therapy practice, consumer demand, legal constraints, and APTA and California constraints

CA Student

The California Student Special Interest Group is a student run organization that provides a platform for PT and PTA students to meet, share ideas, and promote interests regarding the field of physical therapy, the CPTA, and the APTA. Our aim is to promote the participation of students in CPTA events and initiatives, represent the interests of students in state government affairs, and prepare members for future leadership roles in the profession. Ultimately, we look to empower students to take ownership of their student experience while providing tools for success.

District Map

The state of California is broken into twelve districts with a number of counties encompassing each district. Los Angeles is the exception, as boundaries are determined by zip code.

View Map

For questions or information related to districts or special interest groups, please contact Lisa Ruport.